For a deeper look into our DataScope Select REST API, look into:

Overview |  Quickstart |  Documentation |  Downloads |  Tutorials

question

Upvotes
Accepted
5 2 1 4

Why do I get a null RIC returned?

Hello

A fairly basic question probably but I have just started using the API. In some cases I get a null value for RIC when extracting Terms and Conditions. e.g. SEDOL "7657904" is requested. Are there any rules on when a RIC might be null?

Thanks

Neil

dss-rest-apidatascope-selectdssrics
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Upvotes
Accepted
13.7k 26 8 12

Answer part 2 (only 2 images are allowed per answer, sorry):

@neil.gallagher,

Clicking on More Results delivers another contributed RIC, XS0174443449=JPML:

So, using Eikon we found a delisted equity, and an active government bond.

Why were these RICs not returned by your T&C request ?

I am not a data expert, but as far as I know, a T&C request will not return a delisted RIC. Even though DSS is not a historically oriented product like TRTH, some calls will return historical RICs, if you add the following options to the IdentifierList in the T&C query:

"ValidationOptions": { "AllowHistoricalInstruments": true },
"UseUserPreferencesForValidationOptions": false

But for this particular Sedol and request it will not deliver more results.

Note: allowing historical instruments can also be set by default in the user preferences.

Absence of results could also be due to data coverage.