question

Upvotes
Accepted
4 0 1 2

C# RFA (Dead Stop)

Hi Community:

Apologies if my question is too vague. I'm new to RFA and TREP.

I've created a simple application in C# to request snapshots (InitialImages) from TREP every few seconds. Nothing too voluminous. The application runs as a Windows Service and has been going well for about a week. Today, it just just stopped. It actually stopped on a function that closes down the RFA session. The code looks very similar to the standard quick start examples provided with RFA:

public void Stop()
{
try {
ommConsumer.UnregisterClient(loginHandle); ommConsumer.Destroy();
session.Release();
stgConfigDb.Destroy();
configDb.Release();
rdmFieldDictionary.Destroy();
if ((!Context.Uninitialize()) && (Context.InitializedCount == 0))
logger.Error("RFA Context fails to uninitialize.");
}
catch (System.Exception ex)
{
logger.Error(ex);
throw ex;
}

Nothing too fancy, and I do my best to catch any possible exception raised (which are logged).

My question is could the RFA component generate an exception dialog that would prevent my service from continuing to its next executable statement? I appreciate that Windows Services don't have a desktop, but I did notice during development (within Visual Studio's IDE) an occasional C++ dialog when I stopped the application abruptly. When I say dialog, I'm thinking of something similar the following (note: the error is just a V8 example I used to make it appear in VS):

I've configured my RFA config to log as much as possible (note: the application is using V7 RFA):

\Logger\ComponentLoggers\Connections\messageFile= "RFA7_Connections" \Logger\ComponentLoggers\RSSL_Adapter\messageFile= "RFA7_RSSL_Adapter" \Logger\ComponentLoggers\RSSL_Cons_Adapter\messageFile= "RFA7_RSSL_Cons_Adapter" \Logger\ComponentLoggers\RSSL_Prov_Adapter\messageFile= "RFA7_RSSL_Prov_Adapter" \Logger\ComponentLoggers\SessionCore\messageFile= "RFA7_SessionLayer" \Logger\ComponentLoggers\Static\messageFile= "RFA7_MsgFile"