question

Upvotes
Accepted
3 0 1 3

Download market depth day by day

I am trying to download depth data from Tick History Market Depth/Legacy market depth using REST API from this post.

As you already know, depth data is quite large. so I would like to save the files by date. i.e. instead of having 1 giant file, I have one file for each day that contains depth data for all stocks in the list. I would also love to separate by stock and then by date as well but by date is fine for now.

How would I go about it? The following is my code. I use Python 3.6 with Pycharm by the way. And I am not really good with Python. I normally use SAS.

1. The JSON file that specifies the fields to download

{
  "ExtractionRequest": {
    "@odata.type": "#ThomsonReuters.Dss.Api.Extractions.ExtractionRequests.TickHistoryMarketDepthExtractionRequest",
    "ContentFieldNames": [
      "Ask Price",
      "Ask Size",
      "Bid Price",
      "Bid Size"
    ],
    "IdentifierList": {
        "@odata.type": "#ThomsonReuters.Dss.Api.Extractions.ExtractionRequests.InstrumentListIdentifierList",
        "InstrumentListId":"0x06698c5d00301db4"
     },
    "Condition": {
      "View": "NormalizedLL2",
      "NumberOfLevels": 5,
      "MessageTimeStampIn": "GmtUtc",
      "ReportDateRangeType": "Range",
      "QueryStartDate": "1996-01-01T00:00:00.000Z",
      "QueryEndDate": "2018-06-06T23:59:59.999Z",
      "DisplaySourceRIC": "True"
    }
  }
}

And here is the code to run and get data:

#!/usr/bin/python
# -*- coding: UTF-8 -*-
from json import dumps, loads, load
from requests import post
from requests import get
from time import sleep
from getpass import _raw_input as input
from getpass import getpass
from getpass import GetPassWarning
from collections import OrderedDict
import os
import gzip
import pandas as pd

_outputFilePath="./"
_outputFileName="TestOutput"
_retryInterval=int(30) #value in second used by Pooling loop to check request status on the server