Upgrade from Eikon -> Workspace. Learn about programming differences.

For a deeper look into our Eikon Data API, look into:

Overview |  Quickstart |  Documentation |  Downloads |  Tutorials |  Articles

question

Upvotes
Accepted
3 1 1 1

Series of hstorical implied volatility for a list of RICs

Hi. I am quite new with Eikon Python API. I would like to ask how to get a series of historical Implied Volatility for a list of RICs. For example, close of day implied volatility from 2000-2010 for US energy sector. Thanks a lot.

eikoneikon-data-apipythonrefinitiv-dataplatform-eikonworkspaceworkspace-data-apihistorical
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Upvote
Accepted
18.2k 21 13 21

Hi @songqirong

Thanks for the sample formula in Eikon Excel

Please try this code:

df,e = ek.get_data('VODATMIV.L',
                   ['TR.30DAYATTHEMONEYIMPLIEDVOLATILITYINDEXFORPUTOPTIONS.Date',
                    'TR.30DAYATTHEMONEYIMPLIEDVOLATILITYINDEXFORPUTOPTIONS'
                   ],
                   {'SDate':'20140903','EDate':'20150902','Frq':'D'})
df.sort_index(ascending=False, inplace=True)
df

Output:

ahs.png (51.7 KiB)
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Upvotes
9.6k 10 7 7

Hello @songqirong

Eikon Python API provides get_timeseries(..) function which returns historical data on one or several RICs. The function can return the following fields: 'TIMESTAMP', 'VALUE', 'VOLUME', 'HIGH', 'LOW', 'OPEN', 'CLOSE', 'COUNT'

The example to get close price:

import pandas as pd
import eikon as ek
#set app key to identify the application on Eikon, Eikon Proxy or Refinitiv Platform
ek.set_app_key(<The application key>)
#get historical close price of RIC IBM.N from 2000-01-01 till 2010-12-31
df = ek.get_timeseries('IBM.N', 'CLOSE', interval='daily', start_date='2000-01-01', end_date='2010-12-31')