question

Upvotes
Accepted
9 4 5 7

Java TREP UPA API - Choosing an Optimal Buffer SIze

Hi, my application is using the Java UPA API and requesting data from RWF. I have a large subscription list (~400k) and request data in batches of 2048. I have noticed that with such a large list of subscription, the subscription requests drop some symbols in random every time and end up subscribing to a lesser number of symbols. (~370k)

On Tweaking and increasing the buffer sizes, such as below :

guaranteedOutputBuffers(512);

sysSendBufSize(1024*1024*32);

sysRecvBufSize(1024*1024*32);

numInputBuffers(256);

the application reached a stable state where it does not drop requests.

Is there an optimal way to choose the buffer size so that it can handle future increase in subscription lists?

elektronrefinitiv-realtimeelektron-sdktrepjavabuffer
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

@Refinitiv - could you please help understand what these 4 settings mean?guaranteedOutputBuffers, sysSendBufSize , sysRecvBufSize and numInputBuffers.

Which one applies to consumers and servers? So our application connects with TREP using UPA 8.0.0.L1.all.rrg version and as our subscription increases, we notice that the refresh messages get dropped OR we don't even subscribe.

As a consumer, what should be the ideal settings? or how can we dynamically set them?

Our applications run on Unix

Hello @pratik.p.mehta

Thank you for your participation in the forum. Is the reply below satisfactory in resolving your query?

If so please can you click the 'Accept' text next to the appropriate reply. This will guide all community members who have a similar question.

Thanks,

AHS

@arvnar2407

Hi,

Please be informed that a reply has been verified as correct in answering the question, and has been marked as such.

Thanks,

AHS

1 Answer

· Write an Answer
Upvotes
Accepted
78.8k 250 52 74

@arvnar2407

@pratik.p.mehta