Upgrade from Eikon -> Workspace. Learn about programming differences.

For a deeper look into our Eikon Data API, look into:

Overview |  Quickstart |  Documentation |  Downloads |  Tutorials |  Articles

question

Upvotes
Accepted
1 0 1 2

Can the Python API extract weather and "flows" historical data?

I'm new to Eikon and exploring the Python API. Through this, I've managed to pull timeseries information on commodities and futures prices. However, for agricultural commodities, Eikon also has flow and weather data, which I haven't yet managed to extract via the API.

I've seen this question on how to extract current weather data for Europe, but haven't figured out how to replicate it for other countries/continents, nor does that method seem capable of extracting weather timeseries.

As for flow data, I've seen a few other questions which state that information (along with everything else PointCarbon) isn't available via the API, but they are all from 2018, so would like a confirmation that is still the case 3 years later.

eikoneikon-data-apiweather
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

@pnacht

Hi,

Thank you for your participation in the forum.

Are any of the replies below satisfactory in resolving your query?

If yes please click the 'Accept' text next to the most appropriate reply. This will guide all community members who have a similar question.

Otherwise please post again offering further insight into your question.

Thanks,

AHS

Please be informed that a reply has been verified as correct in answering the question, and has been marked as such.

Thanks,

AHS

Upvotes
Accepted
14.2k 30 5 10

Hello again @pnacht,

I've got an update regarding case 10565205 that the historical weather data is not available in Eikon Data APIs.