question

Upvotes
Accepted
66 2 6 11

Is there a number of limitation for registerClient under one consumer ?

Hi Team,

Is there a number of limitation for registerClient under one consumer ? thx 1655273539741.png

ema-api
1655273539741.png (72.6 KiB)
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Upvotes
Accepted
25.3k 87 12 25

Hi @gang.chen1

Thanks for sharing the log files etc.

A few things:

1. In the LPC log file, I can see multiple types of errors - including an 'Exceeded maximum number of mounts per user' as well as many buffer-related errors. The maximum number of mounts errors I expect is related to too many consumers trying to connect to LPC. I am not an LPC expert so you will need to raise an LPC ticket so they can help interpret the buffer errors and advise what may be causing them.
  2. The buffer errors could be a variety of things - which the LPC team may be able to advise on. However, one common scenario with larger watchlists is the Slow Consumer scenario. This is where the consumer application is not processing the data quickly enough - which leads to a buffer overflow on the server and therefore the server disconnects the consumer.
    Typical ways of dealing with Slow Consumer are:
    1. to use Horizontal scaling - i.e. split the watchlist between more than one OmmConsumer.
    2. Minimise the amount of processing done in the OnRefresh and OnUpdate callbacks - e.g. spawn off the processing to a worker thread - so that the OnRefresh or OnUpdate callbacks return control back to the main API thread ASAP - so that the API can go and read some more data from the server.