question

Upvotes
Accepted
1 2 1 4

How to find list of historical company data on all stocks on swedish stockmarket 20Y back in Eikon

Hi, im writing a thesis where i backtest the investment strategy called "The Magic Formula" on the swedish stokmarket. For this i need a list of historical company data on annual basis, such as Retur on capital, EBIT/Enterprice value, dividen, etc... Also i need stock price data from the same timeperiod on monthly basis. Andprice data for the index OMXSPI.

I have never used Thomson Reuter Eikon before, but what i have understand is that this would be quite easy to manage if you know how to use the right codes?

I woud be very thankful if someone could help med solve this task .

Best Regards

M

eikoneikon-com-apidataequities
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

· Write an Answer
Upvotes
Accepted
4.6k 26 7 22

Let's break down your question in to several topics, and I will use Eikon for Excel in my examples.

The list of Swedish companies

There are two quick ways to get the list of all listed Swedish companies: using search or the Screener app;

Search formula (or use the Search button on the Thomson Reuters tab in Excel)

=RSearch("EQUITY",{"RCSIssuerCountryGenealogy","'M:DH/G:A/G:3/G:M/G:2/G:6V'";"IsPrimaryRIC","Yes"},"NBROWS:2000",,)

Screener (or use the Screener button on the Thomson Reuters tab in Excel)

=TR("SCREEN(U(IN(Equity(active,public,primary))/*UNV:Public*/), IN(TR.RegCountryCode,""SE""), CURN=SEK)","TR.CommonName","curn=SEK RH=In CH=Fd")

Both functions will return the list of RICs (or Reuters Instrumental Code) that correspond to a quote of the equity on the exchange. RSearch will also return the pre-IPO company codes, so the output result will be a little different.

Getting fundamentals

Let's take Trelleborg (RIC:TRELb.ST) as a sample.