Upgrade from Eikon -> Workspace. Learn about programming differences.

For a deeper look into our Eikon Data API, look into:

Overview |  Quickstart |  Documentation |  Downloads |  Tutorials |  Articles

question

Upvotes
Accepted
7 4 3 6

Which Eikon API is best suite for pulling Real time and Historical data?

Hi,

I'm new to Eikon API. Currently, I'm trying to explore which Eikon API will be the best suited for the below requirements

Collecting Real-time data

bid,ask,last,volume

historical data

open, high, low, close, volume for 1 minute, 1 hour, 1 day

I've done some investigating about all the Eikon API. But I'm unclear about how the performance would range between those.

Thanks in Advance,

Jay

eikoneikon-data-apipythonrefinitiv-dataplatform-eikonworkspaceworkspace-data-apirefinitiv-realtimehistorical
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Upvotes
Accepted
39.4k 77 11 27

Hi Jay,
Currently there's only one Eikon API that can deliver all the content you require and that is Eikon .NET API.

icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Upvotes
7 4 3 6

@Alex Putkov. Thanks for the Answer.

As per the doc here it says

APIs in this SDK have a run time dependency on Eikon and require that Eikon application is running with the user signed on to be able to retrieve data from Eikon. If Eikon application is not running, it can be automatically launched by this SDK.

Which I always need to install the Eikon App studio (Desktop App) on my machine to get the data.? Is there any other way to run the API without any installation. I'm aware that Ekion APP studio is also available for the web service. Maybe this can help. Not Sure!

My little concern if my application is going to production. My prod server also need to install the Eikon App Studio?

icon clock
10 |1500

@jayendrana