question

Upvotes
Accepted
3 1 1 4

Retrieving news older than 3 months from TRKD API

I'm new to the Refinitiv APIs so I apologised first if this question was asked before.

My company has an account in www.trkd.thomsonreuters.com, which gives me access to the TRKD APIs. My current task requires me to retrieve news articles (not price quotation or other statistical data, but proper English news/text) under a certain topic (say, topic Asia) as much as I can for research. For now, what I can do is to first retrieve news Headlines under this topic via the "RetrieveHeadlineML_1" API and then use the returned StoryId to retrieve news story one piece at a time. My questions are

1> Is there a more efficient way to do this?

2> Since the "RetrieveHeadlineML_1" only allows retrieving data for the last 90 days, does that mean I can only access news in the past 90 days? Is there any method/way at all that allows me to retrieve news from even earlier time?

Thanks in advance.

apirkd-apirkd
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Hi @Thomas Qin,

Thank you for your participation in the forum. Is the reply below satisfactory in resolving your query?

If so please can you click the 'Accept' text next to the appropriate reply. This will guide all community members who have a similar question.
Thanks,
AHS

Upvote
Accepted
141 1 4 1

@Thomas Qin adding to previous previous answer...

1. multiple story ids can be included in a single storyrequest element. The wsdl give sit as "unbounded" however there will be a performance impact to a very large list. I would suggest batches of 10 or 20 storyid per request