For a deeper look into our Elektron API, look into:

Overview |  Quickstart |  Documentation |  Downloads |  Tutorials |  Articles

question

Upvotes
Accepted
3 1 1 1

Retrieving full orderbook data via Data API (C# .Net)

I'm new to this, but I'm writing a custom app (in C# .Net, but potentially C++) to retrieve market data using the Data API. I can get price data, but I can't find out how to get full order book data - are there any examples of this anywhere please?

I could potentially use the RFA API (either C# or C++), but I can't find any examples of this either?

Thanks

elektronrefinitiv-realtimeelektron-sdkdataorder-book
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Hi @julian.faber,

What API are you using to get price data?

The Data API in C# - ThomsonReuters.Desktop.SDK.DataAccess, notably Realtime.SetupDataSubscription(...).That replies with an IRealtimeUpdateDictionary object containing whatever fields have been updated, from LAST, ASK, BID, BIDSIZE, ASKSIZE, TRDTIM_1, ASK_TIME1, BID_TIME1, TRDVOL_1.

I found a python API that would give BEST_BID1/_ASK1, BEST_BID2/_ASK2 etc, which seems like the sort of thing I need, but not a C# or C++ version.

Upvotes
Accepted
25.3k 87 12 25

Hi @julian.faber

If you want to consume Full Depth orderbook data, your best route would be to use one of our strategic higher performance streaming APIs such as Elektron Message API

RFA is now considered feature complete / legacy mode and therefore not recommended for new developments.

However, if you can only use C# then you could consider the Websocket API or the alpha version of our upcoming Refinitiv Data Platform library

You can read more about RDP Library here and here and the Websocket API here