Upgrade from Eikon -> Workspace. Learn about programming differences.

For a deeper look into our Eikon Data API, look into:

Overview |  Quickstart |  Documentation |  Downloads |  Tutorials |  Articles

question

Upvotes
Accepted
1 1 1 1

Problem using Eikon on Python

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Anaconda/Python environment and trying to set the connection in between Eikon data API to use it on Python via Jupyter Notebook. I will provide some background information as side notes below, however if you need further details please let me know.

Note: I am on corporate environment, but I am not sure whether the errors are related with any of the firewalls or other missteps that I have done through the process.

Note: I am using Anaconda 3 interface and my Python version is 3.8.5 (however I also tried installing older versions of Python such as 3.7.4, but still got the errors).

So, I followed the instructions on the Eikon quick start webpage: https://developers.refinitiv.com/en/api-catalog/eikon/eikon-data-api/quick-start/quickstart-guide-for-windows

It was instructed to download the Eikon module on python using "pip install eikon" command. Yet, whenever I try to use this command (pip install <module name>), I got below/or similar errors:

--------Error on Prompt----------

WARNING: Retrying (Retry(total=4, connect=None, read=None, redirect=None, status=None)) after connection broken by 'NewConnectionError('<pip._vendor.urllib3.connection.HTTPSConnection object at 0x000001EAA8D451C0>: Failed to establish a new connection: [Errno 11001] getaddrinfo failed')': /simple/datetime/

WARNING: Retrying (Retry(total=3, connect=None, read=None, redirect=None, status=None)) after connection broken by 'NewConnectionError('<pip._vendor.urllib3.connection.HTTPSConnection object at 0x000001EAA8D42DF0>: Failed to establish a new connection: [Errno 11001] getaddrinfo failed')': /simple/datetime/