Upgrade from Eikon -> Workspace. Learn about programming differences.

For a deeper look into our Eikon Data API, look into:

Overview |  Quickstart |  Documentation |  Downloads |  Tutorials |  Articles

question

Upvotes
Accepted
2 1 0 3

How to create an automatic data transfer between Eikon Monitor App and database (SQL)?

Hi,

I am currently looking into the uses of Reuters APIs. As I am new to the subject I still have questions regarding the extraction of data from Reuters Eikon to a database.

What I would like to create is a connection between the Reuters Eikon Monitor App and a SQL-database. Moreover, I would like to automatically transfer a list with ISIN-codes that I have in Reuters Eikon Monitor App to the SQL-database on a weekly basis.

Would something like this be possible?

a. If not, are there other solutions that could have a similar outcome?

b. If it is possible, which API would be most suited for this application?

Thank you in advance!

eikoneikon-data-apipythonrefinitiv-dataplatform-eikonworkspaceworkspace-data-api.net
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Upvotes
Accepted
39.4k 77 11 27

@s.vermeer
Technically it's very possible and Eikon Data APIs would be best suited for the purpose. If your monitor list is named "Monitor 1", the following call retrieves the constituents of the list and the name, the RIC and the ISIN for each constituent:

ek.get_data('MONITOR("MONITOR 1")',['TR.CommonName','TR.RIC','TR.ISIN'])