Upgrade from Eikon -> Workspace. Learn about programming differences.

For a deeper look into our Eikon Data API, look into:

Overview |  Quickstart |  Documentation |  Downloads |  Tutorials |  Articles

question

Upvotes
Accepted
3 1 4 4

Recommended code pattern for handling Eikon get_data timeout

Hi,

I'm a newbie to Eikon API

Is there a proscribed code pattern for handling timeouts? I have making a call to `get_data` in a loop: Each request takes about 10s to return but occasionally I get a Timeout (408/504).

I could just trap the timeout error and re-submit using following code as a starting point, but I just wondered is there an accepted/recommended code pattern to use?

thanks

e = None
    try:
        ek.get_data(instruments, fields)
    except ek.EikonError as err:
        e = err
        # do I trap here and re-call get_data??
        raise Exception(f'Eikon error {e.code}\n{e.args}\n{e.message}')

eikoneikon-data-apipythonrefinitiv-dataplatform-eikonworkspaceworkspace-data-apitime-out
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Hello @john.lupton

Thank you for your participation in the forum. Is the reply below satisfactory in resolving your query?

If so please can you click the 'Accept' text next to the appropriate reply? This will guide all community members who have a similar question.

Thanks,

AHS

@john.lupton

Hi,

Please be informed that a reply has been verified as correct in answering the question, and has been marked as such.

Thanks,

AHS

1 Answer

· Write an Answer
Upvotes
Accepted
18.2k 21 13 21

Hi @john.lupton

I would add a while loop with a success flag.

ric = ['PEUP.PA']
fields = ['TR.RetireDate']

isSuccess = False

while (not isSuccess):
    try:
        df,e = ek.get_data(ric, fields)
        isSuccess = True
    except ek.EikonError as err:
        raise Exception(f'Eikon error {e.code}\n{e.args}\n{e.message}')