question

Upvotes
Accepted
5 3 3 5

Date arguments in datastream call

Hi,

I'm new to datastream and have the below two python calls. The first calculates the return over the period in the field brackets and the second is a daily return series of S&P 500.

OneYear=ds.get_data(tickers=Ticker_list, fields=['PCH#(X(RI),6-30-20,6-30-21)'], kind = 0)

Return_Series=ds.get_data (tickers='S&PCOMP', fields=['PCH#(X(RI),-1D)','RI'], start='-4Q', end='-1Q', kind=1)

I have a couple questions.

1) I got some help from the helpdesk on these, but what is the difference between the two formats (other than the dates are within the field argument in the OneYear example) and under what circumstances would I use one option vs. the other?

2) Related to question 1), how can i specify a variable for the date argument in these examples (e.g., if i have an "end_date" variable? I tried entering that in the end field in the Return_Series example but it didn't seem to work.

3) Are there any training resources where I should check for these types of answers?

Thanks very much.

datastream-apidsws-api
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Hello @jason.miller

Thank you for your participation in the forum. Is the reply below satisfactory in resolving your query?

If so please can you click the 'Accept' text next to the appropriate reply? This will guide all community members who have a similar question.

Thanks,

AHS

Upvotes
Accepted
78.8k 250 52 74

@jason.miller

Yes, you can. However, from the usage guide, the date formats are different.

The data format of the PCH expression is DD/MM/YY while the data format of the start and end parameters in the get_data method is YYYY-MM-DD.

The code looks like this:

start_date_qtr = '2021-03-31' 
end_date = '2021-06-30'

start_date_pch = '31/03/21'
end_date_pch = '30/06/21'

fields = "PCH#(X(RI),{},{})".format(start_date_pch, end_date_pch)