Upgrade from Eikon -> Workspace. Learn about programming differences.

For a deeper look into our Eikon Data API, look into:

Overview |  Quickstart |  Documentation |  Downloads |  Tutorials |  Articles

question

Upvotes
Accepted
1 1 1 1

how to define input parameters for get_data

Hi,

I am new to API and trying to learn. can someone provide an example to me of how to define an input parameter (RICs) for the API get_data (I would like to see If I can pass a list of selective RICs (may be as txt file) and based on that it return me the result in Jason format?

thanks

eikon-data-apipython apiparameters
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Hello @sameer.patel

Thank you for your participation in the forum. Is the reply below satisfactory in resolving your query?

If so please can you click the 'Accept' text next to the appropriate reply? This will guide all community members who have a similar question.

Thanks,

AHS

Please be informed that a reply has been verified as correct in answering the question, and has been marked as such.

Thanks,
AHS

Upvote
Accepted
10.2k 18 6 9

@sameer.patel So you can of course read a list into an appropriate array where instruments are in quotes and separated by a comma eg: riclist = ['MSFT.O','AAPL.OQ','IBM']. If you have a list of RICs in a spreadsheet say, this can be read from a file using pandas (there are many types of read function including csv etc). I give an example of this in an article here where I have a spreadsheet called autoric1.xlsx - which has a column called RIClist.

riclist = pd.read_excel('/Users/jasonram/Downloads/autoric1.xlsx')
allRics = riclist['RIClist'].astype(str).values.tolist()

1642671086375.png

Once you have your list of RICs in an array as above (either from reading a file or building an array in memory from user input etc - you can pass that to the ek.get_data function thus: