Upgrade from Eikon -> Workspace. Learn about programming differences.

For a deeper look into our Eikon Data API, look into:

Overview |  Quickstart |  Documentation |  Downloads |  Tutorials |  Articles

question

Upvotes
Accepted
7 2 4 9

Retrieving annual reports using Eikon API

I would like to download the annual reports for a list of U.S. companies using an Eikon API. I read through this article which seems to describe the general process:

https://developers.refinitiv.com/en/article-catalog/article/introduction-to-filings---python

The article only refers to SEC filings. Is it also possible to download a company's annual report instead of its SEC filing?

I am just getting started using the API and am currently stuck at the second section of the article "Define Token Handling and Obtain a Valid Token". My current code is:

import eikon as ek
import numpy as np
import pandas as pd
ek.set_app_key('EIKONAPPKEY')
USERNAME = "EIKONLOGINUSER"
PASSWORD = "PASSWORD"
CLIENT_ID = "EIKONAPPKEY"

I don't really understand the first line of the Token Handling section:

TOKEN_ENDPOINT = RDP_BASE_URL + CATEGORY_URL + RDP_AUTH_VERSION + ENDPOINT_URL

At this point I get the error that RDP_BASE_URL is not defined which of course makes perfectly sense. I read through the suggested Authorization tutorial but still struggle to understand how this works and how to solve this issue. I thought the code under section 2 of the linked article includes the steps for creating a token? I would highly appreciate some help.

eikon#technologyapiapi-token
icon clock
10 |1500

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

<AHS>

original code snippet

import eikon as ek
import numpy as np
import pandas as pd
ek.set_app_key('fba931bb7a194185bcfb42ff6ecc532b6d3e363c')
USERNAME = "EIKONLOGINUSER"
PASSWORD = "PASSWORD"
CLIENT_ID = "fba931bb7a194185bcfb42ff6ecc532b6d3e363c"
Hi @flammers ,